RSC Atlantic

From 2006 to 2012, Sandra Irving, FRSC, served as Chair of the RSC President's Advisory Council. During that time, the RSC undertook a five million dollar capital campaign to reinforce its capacity to promote, recognize, and advise. One of the priorities of the Extending Excellence campaign was to establish regional programming capacity. Due to a generous gift from Sandra and Arthur Irving, the RSC established RSC Atlantic in 2008. The RSC and the Fellowship are grateful to the Irvings for their support of Atlantic Canadian scholars and universities.

RSC Atlantic is a first step towards engaging more directly and dynamically with RSC Fellows, New Scholars, Institutional Members, as well as existing and new stakeholders (e.g., high school students), community institutions (e.g., local libraries, hospitals), and potential private sector supporters, in Atlantic Canada. RSC Atlantic holds as its mandate: 1) to promote the RSC in Atlantic Canada; 2) to ensure that excellent nominations from the Atlantic region for: (i) Fellowship in the Academies of the RSC, (ii) membership in the RSC College of New Scholars; and (iii) RSC Awards are regularly brought forward; 3) to promote appropriate participation from Atlantic Canada in RSC Nominating Committees, Standing Committees, Task Forces, and Expert Panels; 4) to undertake a range of activities in Atlantic Canada in support of strategic directions outlined in the RSC Strategy for Renewal and Growth 2012-2017; and, 5) to assist with the stewardship and promotion of Institutional Membership in the region. RSC Atlantic is led by the Atlantic Steering Committee, which will include no fewer than five members chosen to reflect a range of backgrounds and expertise (all three Academies and College of New Scholars).

This area of the website houses details regarding the membership of the committee, its terms of reference, and information about the Open Academy program.


RSC-Atlantic celebrated new Atlantic region RSC Fellows, and College members at the RSC Celebration of Excellence in Winnipeg, Manitoba, 23-25 November 2017. Front row, left to right:  Gwendolyn Davies, Fellow and co-Chair, RSC-Atlantic, University of New Brunswick; Dr. Marsha Campbell-Yeo, new Fellow, Dalhousie University;  Dr. Julia Wright, new Fellow, Dalhousie University;  Christl Verduyn, Fellow and co-Chair, RSC-Atlantic, Mount Allison.  Back row, left to right: Dr. William Sweet, new Fellow, St. Francis Xavier University, and Dr. Stephen Wyatt, new College member, the École de foresterie, Université de Moncton.

Missing from photo:
Dr. Nancy Nason-Clark, new Fellow, University of New Brunswick, and Dr. Brendan Murphy, new Fellow, St. Francis Xavier University, and new College Member Dr. Karly Kehoe, Saint Mary's University.